Dr. Shiv Kumar Dhyani
Fellow, Elected 2013

Born in Lansdown, Uttarakhand, India on 17 September 1956. Educated at Govt. Intermediate College, Lansdown, 1967-73; DAV College, Dehradun, 1973-1975; DBS PG College, Dehradun, 1975-77; SFS College, Burnihat, Assam, 1981-1983; School of Forestry, MSU, USA 1990-1992; NEHU, Shillong, Meghalaya, 1994-1998; B.Sc. 1975; M.Sc. 1977; Diploma (Hons.) in Forestry, 1983; Ph.D. 1998.

Principal Scientist (Agroforestry), NRM Division, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi, 2015 to date.

Technical Assistant, Operational Research Project on Watershed Management (CSWCRTI), Fakot, Tehri Garhwal, 1978-80; Senior Technical Assistant, Central Soil and Water Conservation Research & Training Institute (CSWCRTI), Dehradun, 1980-1984; Scientist, CSWCRTI, Dehradun, 1984-88; Senior Scientist, ICAR RC for NEH Region, Umaim, Megahalaya, 1988-98; Principal Scientist and Head of Division, CSWCRTI, Dehradun, 1998-2005; Director, National Research Centre for Agroforestry and Project Coordinator, All India Co-ordinated Research Project on Agroforestry, Jhansi, 2005-15.

Awards/Honours: Certificate of Achievement, USDA Course, Univ. of Florida, USA 1991; ICAR Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Award, 1998; IASWC Gold Medal, 2005; ICAR Vasantrao Naik Award, 2010; Dr. Rajendra Prasad Puruskar 2002, 2010; President, Indian Society of Agroforestry, 2005-2015; Certificate of Appreciation for contribution to ENABLING THE BUSINESS OF AGRICULTURE 2017 REPORT from The World Bank. Member, Inter-Ministerial Committee for implementation of National Agroforestry Policy, DoACFW, MoAFW, GoI; Essential Member, Accreditation Board of ICFRE; Member, Steering Committee of IFAD-ICRAF Program on Biofuel Crops; Member, Sub-Committee on Biofuels under Bioenergy Advisory Committee, MNRE, GoI., Member, National Steering Committee for the Green Forestry sector under Global Technology Watch Groups (GTWG) Project supported by Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India.

Fellow: Indian Association of Soil & Water Conservationists, 2004; Range Management Society of India, 2010

Research Areas: Forestry, Agroforestry, Watershed & Natural Resource Management

Address: Principal Scientist (Agroforestry), NRM Division, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, KAB-II, Pusa Campus, New Delhi 110012; Qtr. DII/Block B-10, 5A 1st Floor, Moti Bagh, South West Delhi, New Delhi 110021; [Tel: Off. (011) 25842716; Res. (011) 26881507; Cell 9451658346, 8527701604; Fax: (011) 25842716; Email: shivkdhyani@gmail.com; skdhyani.icar@gov.in]