Dr. Dattatraya Mahabaleshwar Hegde
Fellow, Elected 2009

Born at Kanamuski, Karnataka, India on 15 April, 1949. Educated at Pragati Vidyalaya, Muroor, Kumta, 1966; MM Arts and Science College, Sirsi, 1967; University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore, B.Sc.(Ag.) 1971; M.Sc.(Ag.) 1973; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, Ph.D. 1977; UNDP Fellow, University of Florida, Texas and California, 1984.

Scientist, 1976-82, and Sr. Scientist 1982-88, Indian Institute of Horticultural Research, Bangalore; Project Coordinator (Agronomy), Project Directorate for Cropping Systems Research, Modipuram, 1988-93; Project Coordinator (Safflower), Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth, Solapur, 1994-98; Project Director, Directorate of Oilseeds Research, Rajendranagar, Hyderabad, 1998-2011. Consultant, Technical Advisory Group (Task Force-II), PPV&FRA, New Delhi; Adviser, IOPEA; Member, Board of Regents, UAS, Dharwad, 2006-09, Research Advisory Committee, NAU, Navsari, APNL Biotechnology Programme, Hyderabad, Nagarjuna Agril. Research and Development Institute, Hyderabad, Working Group of the Sub Committee of National Development Council on Agriculture & Related Issues on Region/Crop Specific Productivity Analysis and Agro-climatic Zones, Member, IMC of PDCSR, Modipuram, DRR, Hyderabad, DSR, Hyderabad, CRIDA, Hyderabad and NAARM, Hyderabad; Consultant - Oilseeds and Oilpalm, Ministry of Agriculture,GoI, 2011-12; Executive Member, Agri Biotech Foundation, Hyderabad, 2006 to date.

Awards/Honours: FAI Dhiru Morarji Memorial Award for the best article, 1992, 2002, 2006 and 2009; Best Research Paper Award, 2000, and Gold Medal, 2002, Indian Society of Agronomy; Best Researcher Award, The Sulphur Institute, Washington, 2003; Seedmen Association of India Award, 2003; Chaudhury Devi Lal Best AICRP Award, 2005; Dr. P.C. Raheja Memorial Lecture Award, 2008; Sardar Patel Outstanding ICAR Institute Award, 2008; Best Paper Award, Indian Society of Oilseeds Research, 2009; Bhartiya Vikas Ratan Award, 2009; Chief Editor, Indian Journal of Agronomy, 2003-04; Vice President (2006-09) and President (2010-11), Indian Society of Oilseeds Research.

Fellow: Indian Society of Agronomy; Indian Society of Oilseeds Research.

Research Areas: Soil Fertility Management, Water Management, Cropping Systems and Oilseeds

Address: Ex-Director (DOR), C-108, SMR Vinay Galaxy, ITPL Road, Hoody Junction, Mahadevapura, Bangalore 560048, Karnataka; [Tel: Cell: 09535788244, 08867217956; Email: dmhegde@rediffmail.com; dmhegde@gmail.com]