Dr. S. Ayyappan

Born in Alakere, Karnataka, India on 10 December 1955. Educated at National High School, Bangalore, 1967-70; National College, Bangalore, 1971; College of Fisheries, Mangalore, UAS, Bangalore, 1971-77; Ph.D. 1988.

NABARD Chair Professor, ICAR-NDRI SRS, Adugodi, Bengaluru, 2016 to date; Chancellor, Central Agricultural University, Imphal, 2018 onwards.

Scientist, Central Inland Fish. Res. Inst., Barrackpore, 1978-84; Senior Scientist & Principal Scientist, 1984-95, and Director, Central Institute of Freshwater Aquaculture, Bhubaneswar, 1996-2000; Director, Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai, 2000-2002; Deputy Director General (Fisheries), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, New Delhi, 2002-09; Secretary to Government of India, Department of Agricultural Research & Education (DARE) and Director General, Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi, 2010-2016; Chief Executive, National Fisheries Development Board, 2006-08; Chairman, APAARI, 2011-12; Vice-Chairman/Member of Governing Boards of WFC, ICRISAT, CIP, IRRI, ICARDA for 2-6 years.

Awards/Honours: D.Sc. (h.c) from 14 Universities; Zahoor Qasim Gold Medal, 1996-97; Special ICAR Award, 1997; ICAR Award for Team Research for 1997-98; ZSI Gold Medal, 1998; ICAR Award for Team Research, 1997-98; V.G. Jhingran Gold Medal, 2002; H.P.C. Shetty Award for Excellence in Fisheries Research and Development, Asian Fisheries Society, Indian Branch, 2002; S.R. Bhargava Medal, 2003; and S.L. Hora Gold Medal, 2003; Gold Medal of ASET, 2009; Gold Medal Zoological Society of India, 2009; Lifetime Achievement Award, Indian Society of Agricultural Biochemists, 2010; SOFTI Award, CIFT, Kochi, 2009; Dr. P. Sheel Memorial Award, National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad, 2010; Padma Shree Prof. N. Balakrishnan Nair Environmental Excellence Award, 2010; Karuna Award-2011; Fellowship and Lifetime Achievement Award, Society of Extension Education, 2011; Dr. B.P. Pal Memorial Award, ISCA, 2012; Platinum Jubilee Award in Agriculture & Forestry, ISCA, 2013; Karnataka Rajyotsava Award, 2013; AMI Lifetime Award, 2013; Dr. Y. Nayudamma Award, 2014; Dr. J.C. Bose Memorial Award, 2014; Dr. Amrik Singh Cheema Award, 2014; G.M. Modi Award for Innovative Science & Technology, 2014; Shri O.P. Bhasin Award, 2015; Dr. V. Kurien Memorial Award, 2016; Sir M. Visveswaraya Memorial Award, KSCST, 2017.

Fellow: National Academy of Sciences, India; Society of Nature Conservators, India; Inland Fisheries Society of India; Zoological Society of India; Association of Aquaculturists; Society of Biosciences; ISEP Science Academy; Academy of Environmental Biology; Academy of Environmental Biological Society of India; National Institute of Ecology; National Academy of Biological Sciences.

Research Areas: Fisheries, freshwater aquaculture, aquatic microbiology

Address: NABARD Chair Professor, ICAR-NDRI SRS, Adugodi, Bengaluru 560030, Karnataka; 172, Shreepadam, Ground Floor, 5th Main, Avalahalli, BDA Extension, Bengaluru 560085, Karnataka; [Tel: Off. (080) 25701662; Cell: 9582898989; Email: sayyappan1955@gmail.com]

President 1 Jan, 2014 to 31 Dec, 2016; Vice-President 1 Jan, 2010 to 31 Dec, 2012; Secretary 1 Jan, 2003 to 31 Dec, 2005; Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2002 to 31 Dec, 2002; Recognition Award 2001-2002; Dr. B.P. Pal Memorial Award 2009-2010