Dr. D.L.N. Rao
Fellow, Elected 2004

Born in Pulletikurru, A.P., India on 26 November 1954. Educated at Andhra School, Delhi, 1961-70; Deshbandhu College, Delhi, 1970-73; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, 1973-78; B.Sc. 1973; M.Sc. 1975; Ph.D. 1979; Commonwealth Scholar at Biological Laboratory, University of Kent at Canterbury, England, 1986-87; Visiting Research Fellow at Deptt. Of Biological Sciences, Imperial College at Wye, University of London, England, 1995; Visiting Research Fellow, Deptt. Of Biological Sciences, University of Sussex, England, 1995.

Principal Scientist and Project Coordinator of All India Network Project on Soil Biodiversity-Biofertilizers, Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal 2004 to date.

Scientist, 1978-84, Central Soil Salinity Research Institute, Karnal; Senior Scientist, 1984-98, Project Coordinator, AICRP on Biological Nitrogen Fixation, 1998-2004, Head, Division of Soil Biology, 2005-06, and Director (Acting), 2003, IISS, Bhopal.

Awards/Honours: Prof. S.K. Mukherjee Memorial Lecture Award, ISSS, 2015; ISSS 12th International Congress of Soil Science Commemoration Award 2000; FAI Silver Jubilee Award, 2002; ISSS DR. R.V. Tamhane Memorial Lecture Award, 2007; Editor, Journal of the Indian Society of Soil Science, 1998-99, 2001 to 2006; Editor, Indian Journal of Microbiology, 2006-11; Vice-President, Indian Society of Agricultural Resource Management, 2003-04, Member, Rajasthan Soil Health Improvement Task Force, 2012 to date; Councilor, ISSS, 1994-95.

Fellow: Indian Society of Soil Science.

Research Areas: Soil Microbiology, Biological Nitrogen Fixation, Microbial Diversity, Biofertilizers, Soil Organic Matter, Nitrogen Transformations

Address: Principal Scientist & Project Coordinator, AINP on Soil Biodiversity-Biofertilizers, Indian Institute of Soil Science, Nabi Bagh, Berasia Road, Bhopal 462038, Madhya Pradesh; HIG-H/383, Ayodhyanagar, Phase 2, Bhopal 462041, Madhya Pradesh; [Tel: Off. (0755) 2736846; Res. (0755) 2625547, Cell 09303129740; Fax: (0755) 2733310; Email: desiraju.rao@gmail.com]