Prof. Arun Kumar Sharma
Fellow, Elected 1992

Born in Kolkata, India on 31 December 1924. Educated at Univ. of Calcutta, B.Sc. 1943; M.Sc. 1945; D.Sc. 1955.

Hon. Prof., Centre of Advanced Study, Dept. of Botany, Univ. of Calcutta; Ex-Member, IUBS Commission on Bioindicators; Ex-Chairman, FASAS Commission on Science and Technology for Development; and Co-Chairman, Global Continuing Committee on the Role of Scientific and Engg. Socities in Development (AAAS-INSA-ISCA).

Ghosh Prof. and Program Coordinator, 1970-90; Golden Jubilee Prof., INSA, 1985-90.

Awards/Honours: Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize, 1967; Jawaharlal Nehru Fellowship, 1972; Paul Bruhl Memorial Medal, 1972; Birbal Sahni Medal, 1974; UGC First J.C. Bose Award in Life Sciences, 1976; INSA Silver Jubilee Medal, 1976; FICCI Award, 1979; Padma Bhushan, 1983; D.Sc. (h.c.) Burdwan Univ., North Bengal Univ. and Banaras Hindu Univ.; O.P. Bhasin Award, 1993; ISCA 1st J.C. Bose Medal, 1994; G.M. Modi Science Foundation Award, 1994; ISCA Sir Ashutosh Mukherjee Memorial Prize, 1995; INSA M.N. Saha Award, 1998; ISCA Centenary Award in Biol. Sciences, 1999; Vasvik Award, 2001; Tagore Peace Award, Asiatic Soc. 2010; President, FASAS, 1984-89, Indian Natl. Science Academy, 1983-84, Soc. Of Cytologists and Geneticists, 1976-78, Genetic Assn. of India and Indian Botanical Soc., 1981, President, Indian Assn. For Cultivation of Sciences, 1997-2000; General President, Indian Science Congress Assn, 1981; Member, Scientific Advisory Committee to the Cabinet, Govt. of India, 1983-85; Chairman, Man and Biosphere Committee, Dept. of Environment, Govt. of India, 1983-89; Chairman, Steering Committee, National Bioresource Development Board, Govt. Of India, 1999-2012; Chairman, State Biodiversity Board, W.B. 2004-11; Founding President, Fedn. Of Asian Scientific Academies and Socities (FASAS); Past-President, Indian National Science Academy; President, National Academy of Sciences, India.

Fellow: Indian National Science Academy; Indian Academy of Sciences; National Academy of Sciences; Third World Academy of Sciences; Corresponding Fellow, Argentinian Academy of Sciences; Corresponding Academician, Puerto Rican Academy of Sciences.

Research Areas: Cytogenetics; cytochemistry and cell biology; tissue culture; chromosome research; environmental biology and environmental mutagenesis

Address: Honorary Professor, Centre for Advanced Study, Botany Department, Calcutta University, 35 Ballygunge, Circular Road, Kolkata 700019, West Bengal; Meghamallar, Flat No. 2F2, 18/3, Gariahat Road, Kolkata 700019, West Bengal; [Tel: Off. (033) 24615445, 24614688; Res. (033) 24405802; Fax: (033) 24614849; Email:]