Dr. Harikesh Bahadur Singh
Fellow, Elected 2006

Born in Pratapgarh, India on 18 July 1953. Educated at K.P. Hindu Inter College, Pratapgarh, 1971-73; Post Graduate Degree College, Pratapgarh, Avadh University, Faizabad, 1973-75; St. Andrews' College Gorakhpur, Gorakhpur University, 1975-77; Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 1977-81; B.Sc. 1975; M.Sc. 1977; Ph.D. 1981.

Professor, Mycology & Plant Pathology, Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 2006 to date.

PDF (CISR), 1981-82, Research Associate, UGC, 1983-84, and Pool Officer (CSIR), 1984, Banaras Hindu University, BHU, Varanasi; Lecturer, 1984-89, and Sr. Lecturer, 1989-92, North-Eastern Hill University, NEHU, Medziphema, Nagaland; SRO-cum-Associate Professor, Plant Pathology, 1992-93, Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Hill Campus, Ranichauri, Tehri Garhwal; Scientist, 1993-94, Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP), Lucknow; Scientist, 1994-98, CIMAP, Resource Centre, Pantnagar; Scientist & Head, Plant Pathology, National Botanical Research Institute, Lucknow, 1998-2006; Visiting Professor, Cornell University, USA, 2011; Head, Department Mycology & Plant Pathology, Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, 2014-17.

Awards/Honours: CSIR Technology Prize for Biological Sciences (Team),1999; Vigyan Bharti Award, 2000; Essential Oil Association of India, SOM Award, 2005; Society of Mycology & Plant Pathology, Prof. V.P. Bhide Memorial Award, 2006; Society for Plant Research, Scientist of Excellence Award, 2007; BRSI Industrial Medal Award, 2007; Bioved Fellowship Award, 2009; Jyoti Sangam Award, 2009; Akshyavat Samman 2009; Distinguish Scientist Award by Society for Research Development in Agriculture, 2011, Prof. Panchanan Maheshwari Medal by Indian Botanical Society, 2011. CSIR Award for S&T Innovation for Rural Development (CAIRD) 2011 (Team). Rashtriya Gaurav Award- 2012 by IIFS, Plant Pathology Leader Award by IPS (MEZ), 2012, Environment Conservation Award, 2013; Plant Pathology Leadership Award, 2013, Vigyan-Ratna Award by U.P.C.S.T -2014. Executive Editor, Indian Journal of Plant Pathology 2003 to date; Vice President, Allium Society of India (2009-11); President (MEZ) Indian Phytopathological Society (2010-11); Member General Publication Core Committee, IPS (2011-13); Executive Committee Member of Essential Oil Association of India; Member publication committee of "Indian Perfumer" (2005-07); Member of U.P. State Biodiversity Board (2007-09); Member Wild Life Board, Government of U.P. (2010-11); Member Task Force Life Sciences Women Scientist Scheme (WOS-A) DST, Govt. of India (2005-12); Member Task Force DBT on Biotechnology Based Programme for SC/ST and Rural Population (2011-14); Task Force Expert Member on Biological Agents for Crop Management; Vice-President (Academic) Asian PGPR Society for Sustainable Agriculture.

Fellow: Indian Phytopathological Society; International College of Nutrition, India; Indian Society of Mycology & Plant Pathology; Biotechnology Research Society of India; Society of Plant Reproductive Biologists.

Research Areas: Mycology & plant pathology, organic farming, fortified and designer foods, microbial based biopesticides & biofertilizers

Address: Professor, Mycology & Plant Pathology, Institute of Agricultural Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi 221005, U.P.; Flat No. 12 Sidhartha Residency II, Kaushlesh Nagar, BHU-DLW Road, Sunderpur, Varanasi 221005, U.P.; [Tel: Off. (0542) 6702583, 6702576; Res. (0542) 2368993; Cell: 09415355571; Fax: (0542) 2368993; Email: hbs1@rediffmail.com]