Dr. Raj Kumar Singh
Fellow, Elected 2013

Born in Gokulpur, Antu, Pratapgarh, Uttar Pradesh, India on 2 July 1958. Educated at KP Hindu Inter College, Pratapgarh, High School, 1973-76; College of Veterinary Sciences & A.H., CSA University of Agriculture & Technology, Mathura, India, B.V.Sc.& A.H., 1982, and M.V.Sc., 1984; Indian Veterinary Research Institute (Deemed University), Izatnagar, India, Ph.D., 1990.

Director-cum-Vice Chancellor, ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, Bareilly, 2014 to date.

Scientist S-1, 1987-1992; Scientist (Senior Scale), 1993-1998; Scientist (SS)-cum-Course Coordinator (Biotechnology), 1996; and Senior Scientist, 1998-2002, National Biotechnology Centre, Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar - Bareilly (UP), India; Senior Scientist-cum-Acting Head, Division of Virology, 2002-2005; Head, Division of Virology, 2005-2006; and Head, Division of Virology-cum-station-in-charge (SIC), 2006-2008, Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Campus Mukteswar, Uttarakhand, India; Director (Additional Charge), National Research Centre on Camels, Bikaner, Rajasthan, 2010; Director (Additional Charge), Central Institute for Research on Buffalos, Hisar and Nabha, 2013; Director, National Research Centre on Equines, Hisar, 2008-2014.

Awards/Honours: FAO Fellowship for training in recombinant DNA of Viruses at University of California at Davis, USA, 1994; Dr V.S. Alawar Award, 1998; Dr. R. Eswaran Memorial Award, 1999; IAAVP Best Research Article Award, 1999; IAAVR Award, 2000; AVP Best Research Article Award, 2001; Special Academic Award of NAVS (India), 2002; Dr P.K. Pani Research Award, 2003;Shyma Singh and Balamati Devi Memorial Award, 2004; SPR's Excellent Researcher Award, 2005; Mid Career Scientist Award, 2006; Sir F.M. Burnett Memorial Award, 2006; Dr Alfred Lingard Award, 2008; ICAR Team Research Award, 2008; Agriculture Research Leadership Award, 2011; Rafi Ahmad Kidwai, 2011; DBT Tata Innovation Fellowship Award, 2013; Harit Ratna Award, 2017; Guru Vashist Award, 2018; IVS Shyama Prasad Raychaudhuri Award, 2018.

Fellow: Academy of Science for Animal Welfare, 2003; FSPR Society for Plant Research, 2004; National Academy of Veterinary Science, 2006; Society of Immunology & Immunopathology; 2007; Academy of Environmental Biology, 2010; Society for Veterinary Immunology and Biotechnology, 2010; Indian Virological Society, 2011; International College of Nutrition, 2011; Indian Association of Veterinary Microbiologist, Immunologist & Infectious Diseases Specialists, 2011; Bioved Honorary Fellowship, 2017.

Research Areas: Biotechnology, Veterinary Microbiology, Molecular Epidemiologist, Diagnostics and Vaccinology.

Address: Director-cum-Vice Chancellor, ICAR-Indian Veterinary Research Institute, Izatnagar, Bareilly 243122, U.P.; [Tel: Off. (0581) 2300096; Res. (0581) 2302231; Cell: 7534075345; Fax: (0581) 2303284; Email: directorivri@gmail.com; rks_virology@rediffmail.com]

Member Executive Council 1 Jan, 2017