Dr. Cherukumalli Srinivasa Rao
Fellow, Elected 2008

Born in Anigandlapadu, Krishna district of Andhra Pradesh on 4 October 1965. Educated at ZP High School, Anigandlapadu, 1975-80; SGS College Jaggaiahpet, 1980-82; Agricultural College, Bapatla, 1982-88; Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, 1988-92; Tel-Aviv University, Israel, 1998-99; B.Sc (Ag) 1982; M.Sc(Ag) 1988; Ph.D 1992; Post-Doctoral 1999.

Director, ICAR-Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad, 2014 to date.

Scientist, Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal, 1992-98; Senior Scientist, Indian Institute of Pulses Research, Kanpur and Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad, 1998-2006; Principal Scientist, 2006-13 and Project Coordinator, All India Coordinated Research Project for Dryland Agriculture, Central Research Institute for Dryland Agriculture, Hyderabad (CRIDA), Hyderabad, 2013-14; Deputation to International Crop Research Institute for Semi Arid Tropics, Patancheru, 2006-2008.

Awards/Honours: Certificate of Merit ISCA, 1995; ISSS Golden Jubilee Young Scientist Award, 1997; ICAR Young Scientist Award, 1998; International Potash Institute – FAI Award, 1998; Pran Vohra Memorial Award, 2000 and Dr. B.C. Deb Memorial Award, 2006 of Indian Science Congress Association; PPIC-FAI Award, PPIC-FAI Award, 2006; Dhiru Morarjee Memorial Award of FAI, 1993 and 2003; ISPRD Recognition Award, 2006-2007; Doreen Mashler Award by ICRISAT, 2007; ICRISAT Millennium Science Award, 2008; International Plant Nutrition Institute Prize 2008; Sukumar Basu Memorial Award of IARI, 2009; Vasantrao Naik Award of ICAR, 2009; FAI Golden Jubilee Award, 2011; Padmasree Dr. I.V. Subba Rao Memorial Award from Rithunestam, 2012; International Potash Institute-FAI Award, 2012. Chief Editor, Indian Society of Dryland Agriculture, 2009 to 2014; Hari Om Ashram Trust Award of ICAR 2014; Rajashri Tandon Rajbasha Puruskar – 2013-14; 2014-15; Vasant Rao Naik Award 2014; Sardar Patel Outstanding Research Institute Award of ICAR – 2014; Editor, Indian Society of Soil Science 2014-15; Chairman, Standing Technical Committee, National Mission for Sustainable Agriculture (NMSA) 2014 onwards; Hindi Regional Rajbhasha Award, 2016 by Ministry of Home Affairs; UNFCCC Indian Delegation Member – Bonn, Germany, 2015, 2016; Executive Board Member, International Dryland Development Committee, Cairo, Egypt.

Fellow: Indian Society of Soil Science; Indian Society of Pulses Research and Development

Research Areas: Climate change, District agriculture contingency planning, Soil carbon sequestration, Participatory soil health management, Dryland agriculture

Address: Director, ICAR-Central Research Institute for Dryland Institute (CRIDA), Santoshnagar, Saidabad (PO), Hyderabad 500059, Telangana; [Tel: Off. (040) 23530177; Res. (040) 24532262, Cell: 09848848453; Fax: (040) 24531802, 24530828; Email: cherukumalli2011@gmail.com; director@crida.in]

Recognition Award, 2013-2014; Young Scientist Award, 1997-1998