Dr. Vijay Singh Tomar
Fellow, Elected 2003

Born in Morena, Madhya Pradesh, India on 1 July 1946. Educated at Higher Secondary School, Dharmgarh, 1959-62; College of Agriculture, Gwalior, 1962-66; College of Agriculture, Jabalpur, 1966-68; G.B. Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, 1968-73; B.Sc. (Ag) 1966; M.Sc.(Ag) 1968; Ph.D. Soil Science & Agricultural Chemisty 1973; Post Doc Fellow, International Rice Research Institute, Manila, Philippines, 1978-80.

Assistant Professor, 1972-77, and Associate Professor, Soil Science, 1977-85 GBPUAT, Pantnagar; Professor, 1985-96, and Head, Department of Soil Science, 1992-96 JNKVV, Jabalpur; Founder Director, Centre of Advanced Studies, Soil Science, 1995-96, Dean College of Agriculture, Sehore, 1996-2001; Director Extension Services, 2001-03; Director, Research Services, 2003-08, Director Instruction, 2002-2003 and Dean, Faculty of Agriculture, 2004-08, Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur; Founder Vice Chancellor, Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Gwalior, 2008-12; Vice Chancellor, Jawaharlal Nehru Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, Jabalpur, 2012-17.

Currently, Member, ICAR Outcome Review Committee for XII Plan Period and Current Phase, April 2017- March 2020; Member, ICAR Modal Act for Higher Agricultural Institutions; Chairman, QRT ICAR Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal including AICRPs, 2017/18; Chairman, ICAR Peer Review Team of SAU; Member, Board of Management, RVSKVV, Gwalior.

Member, General Body of the ICAR Society, 2015-18; Indian Agricultural University Association, Secretary General 2017, Treasurar 2016 and Member Executive Committee 2015; Chairman, ICAR QRT on Pulses; Chairman, Research Advisory Committees, ICAR Directorate of Soybean Research, Indore, 2014-17 and ICAR Indian Institute of Soil Science, Bhopal 2010-11 and 2011-14; Member, Governing Body of Atal Bihari Vajpayee Institute of Good Governance & Policy Analysis, 2015-16 to 2017-18; Member, General Body of Atal Bihari Vajpayee University of Hindi 2015-16 to 2016-17; Member, Board of Governance, Mahatma Gandhi State Institute of Rural Development 2012-13 to 2017-18; Court of the Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Amarkantak 2014-17.

Awards/Honours: Jawaharlal Nehru Award of ICAR 1974; Golden Jubilee Best Agriculture Scientist Honour 1997 (MP); Biennial Best Krishi Vigyan Kendra Award of ICAR 2002; Agriculture Scientist Honour 2007 (SBI); Bhoomi Nirman Award 2007; Best Agricultural University Vice Chancellor Award, AIASA, 2015; Life Time Achievement Award, GBPUA&T, Pantnagar, 2015; During my tenure as Vice Chancellor, JNKVV received the Mahindra Samridhi National Agriculture Education Award, 2015 being the National Winner and was Honourd for most impactful contribution in agriculture development of the State by Chief Minister, Madhya Pradesh, 2016; Indian Society of Soil Science Dr. R.V. Tamhane Memorial Lecture, 2005 and Dr. N.S. Randhawa Memorial Lecture, 2017.

Fellow: Indian Society of Soil Science; Academy of Science, Engineering and Technology; Honorary Fellow, Range Management Society of India

Research Areas: Soil Science, Soil Health Management, Irrigation Management, Soil Physics/Soil Technology, Agricultural Research, Extension and Education Administration.

Address: H.No. DH 33A, Deendayal Nagar, Gwalior 474020, M.P.; [Tel: Cell: 8319911688, 9425155585, 9425334717; Fax: (0761) 2681389; Email: vijays1946@gmail.com; vstomar46@yahoo.com]