Prof. Anupam Varma
Fellow, Elected 1990

Born in Delhi, India on 23 July 1940. Educated at Agarwal Intermediate College, Allahabad 1953-57; Allahabad University, Allahabad 1957-64; Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden, U.K. 1964-67; B.Sc. 1959; M.Sc. 1961; Ph.D. 1967.

INSA Honorary Scientist and IARI Adjunct Professor, Advanced Centre for Plant Virology, IARI, 2010 to date; INSA Emeritus Scientist and Advisor, ANASTU Programme of Government of India, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi, 2013 to date.

Applied Plant Virologist FAO, Nigeria 1979-81; Professor of Virology, 1984-86, Professor of Plant Pathology, 1986-88, Head, Division of Plant Pathology, 1988-95, Dean, 1995-2000, ICAR National Professor, 2000-05, and INSA Senior Scientist, 2005-10, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi; INSA Honorary Scientist, 2010-13.

Awards/Honours: FAO/IAAS: World Food Day Award, 1985; VASVIK Award, 1989; O.P. Bhasin Award, 1992; James Wallace Award, Int. Org. Citrus Virol., 1999; NASI: R.N. Tandon Award, 2000; INSA: T.S. Sadasivan Award, 2002; ISCA: Millennium Plaque of Honour Award 2006; IVS: K.S. Bhargava Award 2007; PNASF: Gold Medal Award, 2009; INSA: Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Medal, 2010; IPS: Prof. A.P. Misra Lifetime Achievement Award, 2011; NASI: BP Pal Memorial Award, 2013. Chair, International Council for Science (ICSU) Regional Committee for Asia and the Pacific, 2006-08.

Fellow: Indian National Science Academy; National Academy of Sciences, India; Indian Phytopath. Soc.; Indian Virol. Soc.

Research Areas: Plant virology, plant pathology, plant biotechnology, crop protection

Address: Adjunct Professor, Advanced Centre for Plant Virology, Division of Plant Pathology, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi 110012; 253, Jaimaa Apartments, Plot 16, Sector 5, Dwarka, New Delhi 110075; House No. 136, Housing Board Colony, Palampur - 176061 (H.P.); [Tel: Off. (011) 25842134; Res. 25072511, Cell: 9810217141, (01894) 233079, 9816866744 (Palampur); Fax: (011) 25842134; Email:]

Founder Member Executive Council 5 Jun, 1990 to 30 Dec, 1991; Secretary 1 Jan, 1992 to 31 Dec, 1998; Vice-President, 1 Jan, 2015 to 31 Dec, 2017; Dr. K.C. Mehta Memorial Award 1999-2000; Editor-in-Chief, NAAS Journal 'Agricultural Research', 2012 to date.