Dr. Bijendra Singh
Fellow, Elected 2017

Born in Mau Nath Bhanjan, Uttar Pradesh on 1 July 1960. Educated at Bhadaun Intermediate College, Thalaipur, Mau, 1972-74; Janata Inter College, Ranipur, Mau, 1974-76; Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, B.Sc.(Ag.) 1976-80; M.Sc(Ag.) 1980-82; Ph.D. 1983-86.

Director, ICAR-Indian Institute of Vegetable Research, Varanasi, 2014 to date.

Scientist, 1986-1992; ICAR Research Complex for NEH Region, Barapani; Scientist (Sr. Scale), 1992-1998; Sr. Scientist, 1998-2006; Principal Scientist, 2006-2009; Head, Division of Crop Improvement, 2009-2010; Project Coordinator, AICRP-VC, 2010-2014; Indian Institute of Vegetable Research, Varanasi.

Awards/Honours: Team Research Award of ICAR for Biennium, 2003-04; Vigyan Ratan Award 2014-15 of Council of Science & Technology, Govt. of Uttar Pradesh; Dr. L.C. Sikka Endowment Award for the Biennium 2017-18 by NAAS; Dr. Kirti Singh HSI Gold Medal Award in Vegetable Science, 2012; Dr. Bishwajit Choudhury Memorial ISVS Award for Outstanding Scientist in Vegetable Science, 2014; Dr. Kirti Singh Life Time Achievement ISVS Award-2017 for outstanding contribution in Vegetable Science; Dr. Punjab Singh Vishisht Krishi Vaigyanik UPAAS Puraskar - Agriculture Research Management, 2015; Mahamana Vidya Ratan Award-2017 by Devashram Trust (an International Charity for Global Peace); Distinguished Scientist Award Bioved, 2012; Award Certificate of Recognition-2017 by Protection of Plant Varieties and Farmer's Right Authority (PPV&FRA), Govt. of India, New Delhi; Dr. Kalayya Krishnamurthy National Award 2016-17 by UAS, Bengaluru for outstanding contribution in Agriculture Research. Member, National Academy of Sciences, India, 2017.

Fellow: Indian Society of Vegetable Science; Horticultural Society of India; Confederation of Horticulture Association of India; World Noni Research Foundation; Society for Recent Development in Agriculture; Hi-Tech Horticultural Society; Hi-Tech Horticultural Society Indian; President, Association for Promotion of Innovations in Vegetables, 2014 to date; Secretary, Indian Society of Vegetable Science, 2014 to date.

Research Areas: Horticulture-Vegetable Science (Heterosis breeding, Resistant breeding, Production Technologies, Seed Production, Value addition)

Address: Director, ICAR-Indian Institute of Vegetable Research, PB No. 01, PO - Jakhini (Shahnshahpur), Varanasi 221305, U.P.; H.No. 32, Om Nagar Colony Chitaipur, BHU Panchkoshi Road, Chitaipur, P.O. Sunderpur, Varanasi 221005, U.P.; [Tel: Off. (0542) 2635247; Res. (0542) 2300797; Cell: 8004924520; Fax: (0542) 2635247; Email: directoriivr@gmail.com; bsinghiivr@gmail.com]

Dr. L.C. Sikka Endowment Award 2017-2018