Prof. Virendra Kumar Tewari
Fellow, Elected 2018

Born in Village Orasara, Distt Balia, Uttar Pradesh on 1 January 1955. B.Tech 1979, M.Tech 1981 and Ph.D. 1985, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Professor & Former Head of Agricultural & Food Engineering Department and Rural Development Centre, IIT Kharagpur. Vice Chairman, IIT-JEE 2004 and Organizing Chairman, All India IIT-JEE, 2005-06.

Awards/Honours: ICAR Jawahar Lal Nehru Award, 1986; NRDC Republic Day Invention Award, 1987; ISAE R. K. Jain Memorial Award, 1993-94; ISAE Commendation Medal, 1995-96; ISAE Fellow Award, 2006; ISTE Commendation Medal & Certificate, 2006

Fellow: Institution of Engineers (I), 2006; Indian Society of Agricultural Engineers, 2004-05

Research Areas: Farm Machinery & Tractor System Design, Industrial Ergonomics & Safety, and Precision Agriculture

Address: Professor and Former Head, Agricultural and Food Engineering Department, and Rural Development Centre, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur 721302, W.B.; A-180, IIT Campus, Kharagpur 721302, W.B.; [Tel: Off. (03222) 283152. Res. (03222) 283153; Cell: 9434014171; Email:;]