Dr. Devendra Tarachand Mourya
Fellow, Elected 2019

Born in Indore, M.P. on 3 June 1956. Educated at Indore University, B.Sc. 1974, M.Sc. 1976 and Ph.D. 1979.

Director, National Institute of Virology, Pune, 2013 to date.

Research Officer, 1986-1991; Senior Research Officer, 1991-1995; Assistant Director, 1995-2000; Deputy Director & Biosafety Officer, 2000-2005; Scientist ‘F’ (Deputy Director, Selection Grade), 2005-2011; In-charge BSL-4 facility, 2010-2015; Scientist ‘G’, 2011-2013; Director, Feb 2013- till date at National Institute of Virology, Pune.

Awards/Honours: Bayer Environmental Science Award, 2008; M.O.T. Iyengar Award, 2003; T. Ramachandra Rao Award, 1991, Consultant to WHO-SEARO on biosafety & biosecurity issues; Chairman/Member of several Professional - International and National level Committees.

Fellow: FNASc, FIVS

Research Areas: Microbiology, Entomology, Biochemistry, Biotechnology and Bio-containment

Address: Director, National Institute of Virology, 20-A, Dr. Ambedkar Road, Pune 411001, Maharashtra;; [Tel: Off. (020) 26124386, 26006201; Fax: (020) 26122669; Email: dtmourya@gmail.com; director.niv@icmr.gov.in]